Our Top Picks
EPICKA Universal Travel Adapter with 1AC/3 USB-C/2 USB-A2.9 x 2.07 x 2.15 inches0.3 poundsCheck on Amazon
Anker Nano Travel Adapter3.39 x 1.97 x 0.98 inches3.39 x 1.97 x 0.98 Inches0.2 PoundsCheck on Amazon
The best universal travel adapter for most trips is a compact unit with more than one USB-C port and a clearly stated total wattage, because phones, tablets and thin laptops now charge over USB-C. Among these ten listings, the Ceptics 45W, the two EPICKA 1AC/3 USB-C models and the TESSAN 28W are the ones whose titles state several USB-C ports alongside an AC socket. Every listing here shares one limit: an adapter changes the plug shape, not the voltage.
Top picks at a glance
Ceptics 45W Universal Travel Adapter w/ 3 USB-A, 2 USB-C & Universal Input | International Power Adapter, Type A, C, G & I Plugs, Universal Socket for Global Compatibility, PD 45W Fast Charge
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
Universal Travel Adapter USB C, All in One Worldwide Plug Adapter, Black | Fast Charge GaN PD3.0, Type C USB-A Quick Charging, International Wall Charger, AC Power Outlet Converters, for USA EU UK AUS
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
EPICKA Universal Travel Adapter with 1AC/3 USB-C/2 USB-A Ports | Travel Plug Adapter for EU/US/UK/AUS, Supports Charging for Multi-Device, Not A Voltage Converter, TA-105+, Grey
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
decqle Universal Travel Adapter, 2 USB-C & 1 USB-A, Cover 200+ Countries | PD 20W, International Plug Adapter, All in One Portable Adapter, NOT A Voltage Converter, for USA, UK, EU, AU (White)
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
Bates- Universal Adapter for Travel, Compact International Power Adapter for USA, EU, UK, Australia, and India Outlets, All in One
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
Anker Nano Travel Adapter (1-Pack), 2 USB-C Universal Charger, 20W | 2-Pin AC, European Power Plug, Smart Temperature Control, Works in 200+ Countries, Not a Voltage Converter, Travel Essentials
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
JMFONE Universal Travel Adapter, 2 USB-C & 2 USB-A Ports, 2500W AC Outlet | All-in-One International Plug Adapter, EU/US/UK/AU Plugs, Compact Worldwide Travel Charger for Trips in 200+ Countries
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
EPICKA 45W Universal Travel Adapter PD&QC, 1AC/3USB-C/2USB-A | Travel Plug Adapter for EU/US/UK/AUS, Fast Charging for Multi-Device, Not A Voltage Converter, TA-105S, Black
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
TESSAN Universal Travel Adapter 28W, International Power Adapter | Travel Adapter Worldwide, 3 USB C 2 USB A Ports, US to European UK Italy Ireland New Zealand, Type C G A I Plug
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
TESSAN Universal Travel Adapter, International Power Adapter | 2 USB C 2 USB A Ports, Travel Plug Adaptor Worldwide for US to Europe UK Italy Ireland Australia France Germany, Type C G A I
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated.
| Model | Key point from title | Price tier | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ceptics 45W | 3 USB-A, 2 USB-C, PD 45W claim | Premium | Laptop plus phones |
| NEWVANGA GaN | USB-C and USB-A, GaN PD3.0 claim | Budget | Light packers |
| EPICKA TA-105+ | 1 AC, 3 USB-C, 2 USB-A | Mid-range | Shared charging |
| decqle | 2 USB-C, 1 USB-A, PD 20W | Budget | Phone-only trips |
| Bates Choice | Five outlet regions named, no ports stated | Budget | Backup plug |
| Anker Nano | 2 USB-C, 20W, European plug | Premium | Europe trips |
| JMFONE | 2 USB-C, 2 USB-A, 2500W AC | Mid-range | Mixed gadgets |
| EPICKA TA-105S | 45W PD and QC claim, 1 AC | Mid-range | Laptop top-ups |
| TESSAN 28W | 3 USB-C, 2 USB-A, 28W | Premium | Families |
| TESSAN 4-port | 2 USB-C, 2 USB-A | Mid-range | Couples |
What is shifting in travel charging
A few years ago most travelers carried a plug-only adapter and a tangle of wall chargers. Many listings now fold the charger into the adapter, with USB-C ports sitting next to the AC socket. That saves bag space, but it also moves the important number from the plug to the port: how many watts the unit can supply, and whether that figure is shared.
USB-C Power Delivery is the label you will see most often, and it is generally what lets a phone, tablet or small laptop negotiate a charging speed with the adapter. Listings may also name Quick Charge or GaN. GaN is a semiconductor material that sellers associate with smaller chargers that run cooler, though a title alone cannot show how any one unit behaves.
Another change is shape. Compact single-region adapters are getting smaller, while multi-region sliding-plug designs stay bulkier. Neither is better; they answer different trips. A traveler going to one country for a week has different needs from someone moving through four countries in a month.
Finally, wording has become more careful. Many titles now say “not a voltage converter” outright. That is a good sign for clarity, and it is a reminder that the most common travel mistake is not choosing the wrong adapter but plugging a single-voltage appliance into a foreign socket. Treat every wattage and country count in a title as a seller claim, and confirm it on the listing and in the manual.
How we picked these
We worked from the product titles, the manufacturer documentation linked from the listings and buyer reviews, and we sorted the ten listings by port mix, stated wattage and the plug families named. Nobody on the team used or measured these units. Where a title is silent, such as combined output or fuse rating, we say “check the listing” instead of guessing. Listings with near-identical specs are noted as such, and we flag wording that is ambiguous, because a buyer can only compare what the seller states. Prices are shown as tiers within this set, not as quotes, since they change often.
The ten adapters, one by one
Ceptics 45W Universal Travel Adapter
The title lists three USB-A ports, two USB-C ports, a universal input, Type A, C, G and I plugs and a PD 45W fast-charge claim. That ties for the highest port count in this set, which makes it the natural choice for someone traveling with a thin laptop, a phone and a few accessories. It suits a hotel desk setup where everything plugs into one outlet.
Whether 45W is the output of one USB-C port or the total across all five is not clear from the title, so read the listing for the shared-output table. A unit with many ports is also usually larger than a compact two-port model.
Picture a week split between a city hotel and a rented apartment. The laptop charges on the desk overnight, the phone and a power bank share the remaining ports, and a travel companion borrows the fifth. That is the scenario this layout is built for, and the one where a heavy unit hanging from a wall socket is the main practical annoyance. A short extension cable or a lower outlet can help.
- Pros: five USB ports plus a universal socket; PD 45W claim suits small laptops; four plug families named.
- Cons: likely bulkier; combined output is not stated in the title; premium tier within this set.
Check the listing for: output per port when several are used, the maximum AC load, and whether a replaceable fuse is mentioned. Question to ask before buying: does my laptop charger need more than 45W?
NEWVANGA Universal Travel Adapter USB C
This is one of the lower-cost multi-port options here. The title mentions GaN, PD3.0, Type C and USB-A quick charging, and names USA, EU, UK and AUS. It is a sensible spare for someone who mainly charges a phone and a power bank and wants to keep costs down.
The wording is loose. “Type C USB-A” could mean USB-C and USB-A ports, or it could be a reference to the plug family, and the title gives no wattage. We would not assume laptop charging until the listing spells out the output. The GaN and PD3.0 words are seller claims, and they are only helpful if the numbers behind them are shown.
A realistic use is the second adapter in the bag: the one that lives in a daypack for airport gates, trains and cafes where a phone needs a top-up and nothing else does. For that job a low price matters more than a headline wattage, and the loose wording is a smaller problem than it would be for a primary laptop charger.
- Pros: budget tier; four destinations named; fits phone and accessory charging.
- Cons: no wattage in the title; ambiguous port wording; likely too modest for a laptop.
Check the listing for: the exact number of USB-C and USB-A ports and the combined output. Question to ask before buying: which ports share the power budget?
EPICKA TA-105+ Universal Travel Adapter
Here the title gives one AC socket, three USB-C ports and two USB-A ports, covering EU, US, UK and AUS. It also says outright that it is not a voltage converter, which is a helpful clarity point. The layout suits a pair of travelers who each carry a phone and share one outlet in the hotel room.
The title does not state total wattage, so this is the model to compare against the TA-105S, which adds a 45W PD and QC claim at a similar tier. If you are buying only for phones, the plus model may be enough. If you want a laptop on it, the listing should name the output per port.
Imagine two people in a single hotel room with one usable outlet behind the bed. Two phones, a tablet and a pair of earbuds can charge from the USB ports, while the AC socket handles a camera battery charger that came with its own plug. Plug-hogging stops being an issue, and the voltage warning in the title is a sensible reminder to check each charger label.
- Pros: one AC pass-through plus five USB ports; four regions named; plain voltage warning.
- Cons: no wattage in the title; near-duplicate of the TA-105S; grey finish shows nothing about quality.
Check the listing for: output per USB-C port and the AC socket rating. Question to ask before buying: do I need the extra wattage the TA-105S claims?
decqle Universal Travel Adapter
The decqle title shows two USB-C ports, one USB-A port, a PD 20W claim, “cover 200+ countries” and a not-a-voltage-converter warning. It aims at the phone-and-earbuds traveler who wants a small, inexpensive unit. White is a practical color for spotting it on a dark hotel carpet.
“200+ countries” is a seller claim. Plug families, not country counts, determine whether it fits a wall, so confirm that the plug types named in the listing match your destination. The 20W figure suggests phone-class charging, not a laptop, and may be shared if you fill all three ports.
A practical scenario is a long weekend where the only devices are a phone, wireless earbuds and a watch. Two USB-C ports cover the first two, and the USB-A port handles the older cable. It becomes a poor fit the moment a tablet or laptop joins the list, so count devices before you commit.
- Pros: budget tier; two USB-C ports; PD 20W is aligned with phones.
- Cons: small combined budget likely; one USB-A only; country count is a headline.
Check the listing for: the combined output when all three ports are used. Question to ask before buying: do I charge more than two devices at once?
Bates Choice Universal Adapter
This listing is the odd one out. The title names USA, EU, UK, Australia and India outlets and calls it compact and all in one, but it does not mention any USB ports. It reads like a plug-only adapter, which can be a perfectly good backup for people who already carry chargers.
That gap matters. If you assume it has USB ports and it does not, you will arrive with nothing to charge. We treat it as a lighter class than the multi-port models and compare it that way. It is the lowest price tier here, so the value question is whether you really need ports at all.
The best use case is an emergency or a spare. Keep it in a toiletry bag so that if a main adapter fails or stays in a hotel wall, you can still plug your own chargers in. It is also a reasonable choice for travelers who prefer to carry a single multi-port charger from home and need only the plug shape changed.
- Pros: lowest price tier; five outlet regions named including India; compact.
- Cons: no ports stated in the title; no wattage or load rating shown; limited for modern USB-C only devices.
Check the listing for: whether any USB ports exist, the amps rating and the fuse. Question to ask before buying: will my own chargers fit the socket on the adapter?
Anker Nano Travel Adapter (1-Pack)
The title lists two USB-C ports, 20W, a two-pin AC socket, a European power plug, smart temperature control and “works in 200+ countries”. It is compact and Europe-focused. If most of your travel is to mainland European destinations and you only carry a phone and earbuds, it is a tidy way to avoid carrying two things.
The narrow plug is also the caution. A single European-style plug does not fit every country’s sockets, so it is not a true all-region unit like the sliding-plug models here. The “200+ countries” line does not fit with a single plug shape, so verify the destination chart before relying on it. The temperature-control wording is a manufacturer feature claim, not something we have confirmed.
Consider a rail trip across several European cities with a phone and earbuds. The slim two-port shape slides into a coat pocket, and the single plug means nothing to rotate or lose. For a route that includes the UK or Australia, though, the plug question returns, so it is better as a regional companion than a single answer to every trip.
- Pros: brand-name option; compact two-port layout; stated temperature control.
- Cons: premium tier for 20W; European plug only per the title; no USB-A.
Check the listing for: which plug families are physically included. Question to ask before buying: am I going only to places that use this plug?
JMFONE Universal Travel Adapter
JMFONE offers two USB-C ports and two USB-A ports along with a 2500W AC outlet claim and EU, US, UK and AU plugs. The AC outlet number is the standout. It suggests the pass-through socket is designed for higher loads than most compact units, which could matter for a laptop charger or a small device plugged into the adapter’s own socket.
A high outlet rating does not mean the USB ports are powerful, and it does not make it safe to run heating appliances abroad. Region and voltage limits still apply, so the listing’s rating table and the appliance label both matter.
A good fit is a traveler who carries a laptop with its own charger plus a phone and wants both running together. The charger plugs into the AC outlet while the phone and a power bank use the USB ports, so nobody rebuilds a cable tangle at the desk. Keep in mind that sliding plugs add bulk and a loose plug may tilt in an older wall socket.
- Pros: mid-range tier; four ports; AC outlet rating stated; four regions named.
- Cons: USB wattage not in the title; 2500W is a headline figure; bulky if the plugs slide out.
Check the listing for: per-region AC load limits and the USB combined output. Question to ask before buying: what will actually draw power from the AC outlet?
EPICKA TA-105S 45W Universal Travel Adapter
The TA-105S shares its 1AC/3 USB-C/2 USB-A layout with the TA-105+, then adds a 45W PD and QC claim, fast charging for several devices and a black finish. It is the sensible EPICKA for travelers who want to run a small laptop and a phone off the same unit.
The two EPICKA listings are close enough that the deciding factor is the wattage claim, not the shape. That is a good reason to open the listing’s spec table and compare the output numbers rather than the model suffixes.
Think of a remote worker on a two-week trip who lands in a rented room and needs the laptop, phone and earbuds ready each morning. The five USB ports and the AC pass-through handle that without a second charger. If you are choosing between the two EPICKA listings, write down your laptop’s charger wattage first and use that number to decide.
- Pros: PD and QC named; five USB ports plus AC; same layout as the cheaper plus model.
- Cons: near-duplicate of the TA-105+; the 45W may be shared; mid-range tier.
Check the listing for: whether 45W applies to one port or several. Question to ask before buying: does my laptop actually negotiate PD?
TESSAN Universal Travel Adapter 28W
The title states 28W, three USB-C ports, two USB-A ports, and a list of destinations: US to European, UK, Italy, Ireland and New Zealand, with Type C, G, A and I plugs. The five-port layout makes it a family-trip candidate, with phones, a tablet and a handheld game console sharing one outlet.
28W sits between phone-class and laptop-class charging. It should handle a phone and tablet together, but it is unlikely to keep a larger laptop topped up. Italy appears in the destination list, and plug conventions differ by country, so confirm the plug fit for your own destination before you pack it.
Take a family of four on a summer trip with two phones, a tablet and a handheld console. One outlet in the room, five ports on the adapter, and a rotation schedule is usually enough. The 28W ceiling means everything charges at a measured pace, which is fine overnight and less fun when everyone leaves the hotel at eight in the morning.
- Pros: five USB ports; destination list is specific; Type C, G, A and I plugs named.
- Cons: 28W is modest for laptops; close to the other TESSAN listing; premium tier.
Check the listing for: the combined wattage. Question to ask before buying: what is the biggest device I will charge on it?
TESSAN Universal Travel Adapter, 2 USB-C and 2 USB-A
This is the simpler TESSAN: two USB-C ports, two USB-A ports, and a destination list that includes Europe, the UK, Italy, Ireland, Australia, France and Germany with Type C, G, A and I. It suits a pair of travelers with two phones and two accessories.
It overlaps with the 28W TESSAN, so the main question is whether you need five ports. No wattage appears in this title, which makes it harder to judge for tablets or laptops. If your list is phones, earbuds and a watch, four ports are probably enough, and the listing can confirm the output.
This suits two friends sharing a room who each want a phone and a smartwatch or earbuds charged by morning. Four ports with a split of two USB-C and two USB-A cover most pairs. It becomes limiting with a tablet or laptop, and the missing wattage in the title is the first thing to resolve on the listing.
- Pros: four ports; many destinations named; mid-range tier.
- Cons: no wattage in the title; near-duplicate of the 28W TESSAN; limited for laptops.
Check the listing for: output per port and the plug types included. Question to ask before buying: will four ports be enough on the busiest night?
Buying guide: choosing a universal adapter without guessing
Start with the plug families, not the country count
Plug families are what fit a wall socket. Type A is the flat two-blade US style, Type C is the two-round-pin Europlug style, Type G is the three-rectangular-pin UK style, and Type I is the angled-blade style used in Australia and New Zealand. A listing that names these families tells you more than “200+ countries”. Check your destinations against a chart and confirm that each plug you need is included.
Read wattage as a budget, not a feature
A title with 45W or 28W is stating a ceiling. The practical question is how that ceiling is divided when several ports are in use. Many multi-port chargers split power between ports, so a phone and a laptop sharing a unit may each get less than the headline figure. The listing’s spec table should show it.
Match the ports to your device list
Write down every device you expect to charge and note whether each uses USB-C or the older USB-A connector. Most recent phones, tablets and laptops use USB-C, so a unit with two or three USB-C ports usually ages better than one with many USB-A ports. Older accessories such as small speakers or e-readers may still need USB-A, so a mix is sensible.
Know the AC pass-through
Some adapters keep an AC socket so you can plug in a regular charger. That is useful when a device charger is already in your bag, but the socket has its own load rating. Check it against the label of whatever you plan to plug in, and follow the manufacturer’s instructions for both the adapter and the device.
Size, weight and wall fit
Heavy adapters can pull out of loose or upside-down sockets, and some wall outlets are recessed. Check the dimensions in the listing and think about where you will plug it in. A narrow, light unit rarely falls out, while a large multi-port block may need a surface to rest on or a short extension cable.
Safety basics
Adapters do not convert voltage. Phone and laptop chargers often accept a wide input range, which will be printed on the charger, but hair dryers, curling tools and some kettles may be single-voltage. Do not run heating appliances through a compact travel adapter unless both the adapter and the appliance state that it is acceptable. Keep the unit away from water, avoid covering it while it is charging, and stop using it if it gets hot or smells.
Worked example: one hotel night
Assumptions, all rough estimates: a phone at 20W, a tablet at 20W, a pair of earbuds at about 5W and a thin laptop at 45W, with every device charging at once. The sum is about 90W. No listing in this set claims anywhere near that as a combined figure in its title, so the practical plan is staggered charging. Put the laptop on the 45W unit and the phones on a second port overnight, or accept slower charging when everything shares one outlet.
| Spec concept | What to look for | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Plug families | A, C, G, I named for your route | Decides whether it fits the wall |
| Total output | Combined watts across ports | Shows the real shared limit |
| USB-C ports | Two or more with PD | Modern phones and laptops use them |
| AC pass-through | Rated load and fuse | Protects against overload |
| Size and weight | Dimensions in the listing | Affects bag space |
| Voltage note | “Not a voltage converter” | Reminds you to check device labels |
Mistakes that cost travelers
The first mistake is treating an adapter as a converter. If a device label says 120V only, an adapter does not make it safe on a higher-voltage grid. The second is trusting the country count, not the plug families. The third is assuming every USB port gets the full headline wattage.
A fourth mistake is buying one adapter for a whole family and then arguing over it. Count devices in advance. A fifth is ignoring size: a multi-plug unit that hangs out of a loose wall socket can pull itself out, and a heavy one may need a surge-protected strip. Finally, check for a fuse mention before relying on a unit as your only adapter, and carry a cheap plug-only backup such as the Bates listing for emergencies.
One more habit worth dropping is charging through the night under a pillow or inside a bag. Chargers shed heat, and the manufacturer’s instructions usually ask for open space around the unit. Put it on a hard surface, unplug it if it feels hot, and replace any adapter with a cracked case or loose plug.
Verdict by use case
For a laptop and phones together, the Ceptics 45W and the EPICKA TA-105S are the best matches on paper. For families, the TESSAN 28W has the most ports. For a minimal phone-only kit, decqle and NEWVANGA keep cost low, and Anker Nano suits Europe-only trips. For pass-through loads, JMFONE states the highest AC rating. For a backup plug, the Bates listing is the lightest option, provided you accept it likely has no ports. Compare the spec tables before you buy, and read the voltage note on each of your own devices.
If you are undecided, choose by the heaviest device you will charge. A phone-only traveler is well served by a small two-port unit, while a laptop traveler should look first for a stated PD output and then for port count. Anything else is a convenience.
Questions travelers ask
Is a universal travel adapter the same as a voltage converter?
No. An adapter only changes the plug shape so your device physically fits the wall socket. It does not change the voltage. Many listings say “not a voltage converter” for this reason. Phone and laptop chargers are often rated for a wide input range, but hair tools and some small appliances are not. Read the label on each device and follow the manufacturer’s instructions.
How many watts do I need from the USB ports?
As a rough planning estimate, a phone is comfortable with 20W, a tablet with 20 to 30W, and a thin laptop may want 45W or more. Wattage in a title is usually a seller claim, and it may be shared across all ports. Add up what you plan to charge at once, then check the listing for the combined output.
Will one adapter work in every country?
Not always. Listings that name US, UK, EU and Australia cover four common plug families, but some countries use other socket shapes. Check your destination in a plug-type chart and compare it with the plug types the listing names. Phrases like “200+ countries” are seller claims, so verify your own destinations.
Can I plug a power strip or hair dryer into a travel adapter?
Be careful. Adapters have a maximum load rating, and heating appliances draw far more power than phone chargers. A hair dryer may also be single-voltage. Check the adapter’s rated watts and the appliance label, and follow the manufacturer’s instructions for both. If either is unclear, leave the appliance at home or buy a dual-voltage travel version.
Do I need a grounded adapter for a laptop?
It depends on your charger. Many laptop chargers use a two-prong plug and do not need a ground connection, while some use a three-prong plug. Look at the plug on your own charger and at the adapter’s socket. If the socket accepts your plug and the listing describes the ground connection, you are fine. If the listing is silent, ask the seller before buying.
Should I pack a backup adapter?
Yes, if the trip depends on charging. A cheap plug-only adapter is light and gives you a fallback if your main unit overheats, fails or gets left in a hotel outlet. For the route, see our guides to travel adapters for Europe and money belts for travel, and pair the kit with travel pillows for long flights and a secure crossbody travel purse.